Turkey Brining Recipe: How To Brine a Turkey?

How do you brine a turkey? Can someone help me find a good turkey brine recipe?
I have never tried to brine a turkey before but I would like to try this year.
I'm making the turkey this year and I want the outcome to be delicious. Is there a video I can see that explains how to correctly brine a turkey for Thanksgiving?
I have a 20 lb turkey and need to know how much salt and sugar to add to brine it. Also - how long should I brine it for?
What are the benefits of brining a turkey?

asked by Angela in Holidays | 6239 views | 11-22-2010 at 01:01 AM

Brining is the very simple and inexpensive process of “marinating” the bird in a salt solution infused with aromatic herbs, spices, fruits and vegetables. The salting process encourages very deep, cellular moisture penetration.

Brining adds moisture and flavor to poultry and helps to keep it from drying out. A turkey can be a serious investment in time so you want to make sure it is perfect, especially if you're entertaining. Whether you grill, smoke, fry, or roast your turkey, you should use a brined bird.

Brining is simply soaking in a salt water solution. The benefits of brining are many fold. Brining provides a cushion for the breast meat, so even if it overcooks by ten degrees or so, it remains moist.

Here's the basic brining technique.

In a pot that holds at least 6 quarts, combine 1 cup kosher salt, cup sugar, and 2 quarts cool water. Put the pot over high heat and stir occasionally until the salt and sugar dissolve. Remove from the heat and let cool. Stir in another 2 quarts water and chill in the refrigerator.